John of Nepomuk Chapel in Renner Gardens
Some witnesses have claimed that the chapel was moved. St. John Chapel was built here in 1935 as an exact replica of an older structure that used to stand in nearby Na Stráži Street. Legend has it that the chapel was built to house the clay statue of Saint John of Nepomuk. The statue was left exposed on the street and one day its head was broken off by a cow. This compelled the locals to build a shelter for the statue. During St. John celebrations, religious services, processions and even holy masses were held here every year. The chapel was seriously damaged in 1931 during street reconstruction works, because it stood in the way. It was undermined and there was a risk of collapse. The local council resolved to have the chapel moved upon agreement with the church authorities.
The chapel located at the junction of Tyršova (today Na Stráži) and Čelakovského streets represented an obstacle to the ever-increasing traffic. The Dean's Office in Strakonice agreed, but on condition that a new chapel would be built before the original one could be demolished. The present chapel is therefore the successor of its older namesake. There is tilted plate above the entrance reading "MAY SAINT JOHN INTERCEDE FOR US!" The building has been maintained in good order thanks to donations that visitors place in the money box in the door. The clay statue of St. John of Nepomuk stands in the middle of the altar (moved here from the original chapel), accompanied by reproduced paintings and other plaster statuettes. Some statues and paintings have been lost due to theft. The year 1934 is inscribed in the upper part of the altar, which is approximately the time when the chapel was built or moved here. Even though the Chapel is not a central point of interest, it is an integral part of the picturesque park, and demonstrates the Christian tradition of Strakonice.